Let's talk about 'options'

I know it’s not (yet) part of BUX Zero, but perhaps some of you, like myself, already trade in options elsewhere for the time being.

So, I’m curious to find out: do you trade in options? And if so, only European options, or also American? And what’s your style/strategy?
Tell me everything :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

I am a big noob on this xD. What are ‘options’? I just thought it was a different word for settings :stuck_out_tongue:

Hier snap ik ook niets van haha!

1 Like

You may find this useful:

Enjoy!

2 Likes

As to trading options myself, i only do it in competitions with fake money mostly and i pretty good at it. I have never looked into a good option broker. I don’t think bux will add those anytime soon.

Thanks, it looks a bit overwhelming indeed :smiley:

@Cobalt @Cornel @Betguardian it looks a bit overwhelming when you start with it. I totally get that. I had the same impression when I started.
In the end though, it’s quite straight forward. Especially with call options, which I’ll explain briefly.

When you BUY a call option, you pay a premium to buy shares at a fixed price on or before a specific date. For example, you buy a call option that expires 20 January 2023 (after that date the option cannot be sold to others and also can’t be used by you to buy shares) with a strike price of $10 (strike price is the price you will pay for a share when you execute the option in the future). The premium for the option in this example is $4. Generally options represent 100 shares. So buying one call option gives you the right to buy 100 shares. That means the premium is $400 (100 x $4).
This also means that your break even point is $14 (share price + premium). So when the share price is above $14, you won’t make a loss.